Student leaders recognized for work





By Sally Krutzig

News Editor



“Normally, school leaders hear a lot of complaining,” sophomore Joey Kelly said. “So it was nice for these people to hear some applause instead.”

The Student Activities Leadership Awards took place on Monday, April 27 at 5 p.m. The event honored the hard work of the students and staff who displayed outstanding service to the school throughout the year.

After grabbing a plate of hors d’oeuvres, attendees took a seat to say a prayer led by student government president senior Christina Davis. Next, Dore Madere, director of student life, gave out the first award of the night, RA of the Year, to Benjamin Gibbs.

The microphone was then handed over to Catherine Duplant, assistant director of student activities, who distributed the rest of the night’s honors.  The Student Government Senator of the Year award was given to senior Dominic Dougherty. After that, the involvement awards were handed out. These honors were given to students in each class who were clear contributors to the school. Each student selected, one male and one female from each class, is a recognizable face around campus. The freshman winners were Kaitlyn Casanova and Fritzie Schlueter. The sophomore awards went to Joey Kelly and Annamica Reding, and the junior award winners were Joe Dougherty and Gracie Smart.

The Program of the Year award went to Spring Formal. Senior Maria Jose Herrera, the coordinator for that event, accepted the award.

Outstanding Senior awards went to Dominic Dougherty and Cosette Kulda.

“When I’ve seen other seniors win awards in the past, I’ve thought, ‘That’s the kind of person I want to be,’” Dougherty said. “So I’m happy to be in their shoes and to help encourage underclassmen.”

The Spirit of the Crusader award went to senior Anthony Campise. The Student Organization of the Year ward was won by Student Programming at the University of Dallas (SPUD). The Virgil of Student Activities is an honor that goes to the staff member who has best guided students through the school year. This award went to Campus Safety officer Tod Walker. Another staff winner was physics professor Dr. Richard Olenick, who won the Adviser of the Year award.

The last award to be given was The Groundhog Spirit Award. This year, the award went to Student Foundation.

The night ended with the current members of the Student Government executive council handing off the “torch,” in the form of plaques, to next year’s executive council.

Finally, Madere and Duplant also received a big round of applause from attendees for their hard work throughout the year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here